Sixteen Sunsets

by Misled Convoy

  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £7.47 GBP  or more

    You own this


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Sixteen Sunsets via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      £8.88 GBP or more 

    You own this  


Blind Light 05:55
Another Time 05:24
Poles Apart 05:28


Mike's solo album is alive with sonic ideas and influenced by the multitude of sounds he's gathered as he travels the world. ‘Found sounds’ recorded in Iceland, Sweden, Turkey, Italy, Croatia, Spain, Greece, England and Austria have been woven together into delicate yet sophisticated pastiches, layered and twisted with beats and melody, leaving the listener to sense the world around. The cicadas of a Greek island, the automated voice of a Stockholm bus, rubber on cobblestones at a Roman roundabout, the unusual chug of a narrowboat on a London canal – all are drenched in effects and underpinned with Hodgson’s signature dub and bass.

Five out of the nine tracks feature the emotional harmonies and melodies of young songwriter Ines Dunn. As an established music producer wanting to support and encourage women in the industry, Hodgson has spent time with Ines to show her a different approach to music making. His investment has been repaid in spades, as Dunn’s simple touches on the album have added powerful melodic punches in all the right places.

Nowhere is this more evident than in the opening track "Blind Light", with samples referencing the last Misled Convoy album "Tickling the Dragon’s Tail". Dunn tickles the keyboard while Hodgson weaves the industrial sounds of a plastic bottle making machine.

The beats and layers grow over the three following tracks until we come to the fifth track, "I am Full of a Thousand Holes", one of the standouts on the new album. In the hands of most modern dance producers, the monstrous bass riff that underpins the track would be rinsed and repeated, ad nauseam, with all the subtlety of a sledgehammer. In Hodgson's hands, it slips and slides through the melody, ducking and weaving around the beat, and then, just as the tune reaches its peaks, he drops everything and reduces the track to trails of sound. A dancefloor killer in every sense!

Trails of sound are how Hodgson’s music making often begins. After finding a Russian language vowel sounds 7” box set in a charity store, Hodgson researched which nations had sent astronauts to the International Space Station (ISS). The 7'' became the vocal bed for the title track "Sixteen Sunsets", which was then augmented with vowel sounds from the other nations who have also inhabited the ISS. The title is inspired by the phenomenon that, every day, due to orbiting the Earth every 90 minutes, the residents of the ISS witness 16 sunrises and 16 sunsets. To complete the concept visually, Hodgson has worked with artist Hamish Macaulay, who also designed his previous two albums.

From the top of the album to the last note an hour later, this is a non-stop sonic journey around our planet from the streets of a metropolis to the mountain tops and valleys where the insects being to hum in the morning sun. It is a journey where the frequencies provide a twisted commentary on our 21st century world, melding organic, industrial, dub and electronica into one beautiful album.


released November 23, 2018

All tracks written and produced by Michael Hodgson.

Piano on tracks 1, 5, 7, 8 & 9 conceived and played by Ines Dunn.

Mastered by Angus Macnaughton at Auralux Mastering.


all rights reserved